Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Zimbabwe: Polls Body Designates Polling Stations for By-Elections

The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) has identified 513 preliminary polling stations to be used in the parliamentary and council by-elections that will be held next month to fill vacancies created following last month’s recalls of CCC legislators and councillors after they ceased to be members of the opposition party.

The polling stations were published by ZEC’s chief elections officer, Mr Utloile Silaigwana. “It is hereby notified in terms of section 51(3) of the Electoral Act that the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission has identified 513 polling stations where polling will take place on Saturday 9 December 2023 in the by-elections,” Mr Silaigwana said.

He added that polling will take place between 7am and 7 pm on the polling day.

The final list of the polling stations will be published on the polling day.

The by-elections were precipitated by the recalls of 15 CCC legislators and 17 councillors after the party’s interim secretary general, Mr Sengezo Tshabangu wrote to Parliament and the Ministry of Local Government and Public Works that they had ceased to be members of the party.

For the National Assembly, by-elections will be held in nine constituencies whose legislators were elected on the first past the post basis while the other six are proportional representatives which will be filled by the party’s nominees.

The nine vacant constituencies are: Beitbridge West, Binga North, Bulawayo South, Cowdray Park, Lobengula-Magwegwe, Lupane East, Mabvuku-Tafara, Mpopoma-Mzilikazi and Nketa.